The Tipping Point

In a perfect world, there would be no war. No poverty. No blah blah yada yada. You’ve heard the same spiel. There is no such thing as perfection and nothing ever really turns out exactly how you predict it will. Sometimes it’s better than you imagine. Sometimes it’s worse or in the middle. You can only hope for the best.

One week after the Liugle launch and I’m doing just that. I’ve shared it with friends and posted it on Facebook and also tweeted to some notable people in hopes that they’ll be the tipping point to get Liugle to the masses. This post could end up being long forgotten, which only a handful of people read or it could be something that people point to if Liugle does blow up. I really don’t care either way. I’m just thinking about both possibilities and writing my thoughts down.

However, as an eternal optimist, it’d be really awesome if this does reach the heights of other really smart and creative resumes that became viral hits. Although Liugle is a very basic and barebones site, the idea behind it is anything but. I spent countless hours working with my art director/interactive designer to figure out the smallest details. After we finished everything, I told my brother that it seemed anti climactic. I expected a hurrah or some magic moment to signify the end. It turns out that we were staring at the site for so damn long that working on it was the climax. It’s cliche but it definitely is the journey that you remember the most. The entire experience was part of it.

I don’t know if I’m jinxing myself by hoping this becomes viral but either way I’ll be happy. This project has reignited my creative fire and I’m just getting started.

The reason I even bring up Liugle’s viral potential is because of phildub.com. The night after I saw his site, my idea for Liugle was born. I envisioned it but didn’t start building Liugle until a few weeks ago. In a news article, Philippe said he was surprised by phildub’s success but now that I have his site to compare to, I think Liugle is pretty darn close to the same level.

Since I work in digital marketing, I have a lot of experience managing digital ads, so I’ve been promoting my site through AdWords and Twitter ads for a couple of weeks to see if that will help. The campaigns end in a couple of days and I’ll shut them off completely, especially because I don’t have a high budget limit. After Friday, I’ll let the world do its work and see if some magic happens. If Liugle is meant to be viral, it will. If not, I’ll still have a cool site to show people.

I’ve also noticed that there have been some famous people in my network lately. Not Lebron James level famous, just people who’re enjoying their 15 minutes. Within the past 2 months, I’ve seen someone 2 degrees away from me create a viral dancing hit, watched a writer 3 degrees away from me make a cameo in a fun. music video, found out that someone 2 degrees away from me is making yet another appearance on a reality show and has a good chance of winning and watched my old TA become a contestant on a different reality show, which has gotten some news attention lately.

All this could mean nothing but…it could also mean everything. Here’s to hoping for the best.

Leave a Reply

